My People

Attending a professional conference today through Tuesday. I’m definitely enjoying myself, and certainly learning quite a bit. For my current job, being here is a very good thing.

But something occurred to me today, during lunch where, supposedly, one of the most important aspects of these events is meant to occur – networking. These are not my people. I mean, in one sense, they are – primarily Information Technology people, primarily working in Higher Education, and specifically in Business Intelligence. But I’m having trouble getting “into the spirit” of things.

Don’t get me wrong. I enjoy my job; I’m they type who believes in doing what you love, or at least enjoy, and there are many parts of what I do that I enjoy. I wouldn’t be in it if there wasn’t something that held my interest. And the conference is, so far, good.

But my heart is in, you guessed it, gaming. I imagine I’m like many (if not most) gamers – if I had my way, I’d be in the industry.

Leave a Reply

